ICORE (International Confederate of Revolver Enthusiasts)  was founded in 1991 by Mike and Sharon Higashi, long time active shooters in all the handgun sports. Envisioned as an alternative to the “arms race” that was occurring in the other action shooting sports at that time, a revolver-only competition would allow even the most basic equipment to be used and still provide enjoyment and satisfaction. ICORE combines elements of the Bianchi Cup, IPSC, and the Steel Challenge into demanding competition exclusively for revolvers. Like IPSC, the ICORE “squad” gathers on a range and is briefed on the series. One competitor shoots at a time, then the targets are scored and patched, then the next competitor takes their turn. The targets and scoring are different as well with scores outside the A Zone incurring a time penalty. Limited Division competitors use essentially stock pistols, whereas in Open Division, various modifications are allowed. A new division called Classic has been created to cater for 6-Shot revolvers using speed loaders.


Along with your revolver you must also have a holster, loaders and loader holders. You can use either speed loaders, or moon-clips to load the revolver.
All revolvers used in ICORE must be .32 magnum calibre or greater. Ammunition must meet a power factor of 120000.


ICORE has four divisions, Open, Limited, Limited 6, and Classic. The purpose of the divisions is to allow competitors to compete using the same equipment specified for that division. A competitor may only compete in a single division that must be declared prior to the start of competition.


A revolver must compete in the Open Division if it has one or more of the following modifications:

  • Compensating, venting, or metering ports of any kind.
  • An optical sight including telescopic and red dot sights.

A revolver may compete in the Limited Division if it does NOT have any of the modifications listed under the Open Division.


A revolver may compete in the Limited 6 Division if it meets the provisions of the Limited division and has the following additional requirement.

  • A cylinder with only 6 chambers.

A Classic Division revolver is a Limited Division revolver that has the following additional requirements:

  • Cylinder with only 6 chambers.
  • Any barrel other than an unaltered factory barrel or an unaltered factory replacement barrel made by
    the revolver’s manufacturer is not allowed in Classic Division. Alterations to the barrel other than
    what is required to safely install the barrel are not permitted in Classic Division.
  • An under lug, barrel weight, grip weight, or any other modification designed to increase the weight of
    the revolver is not permitted in Classic Division.
  • Must only use speed loaders to reload. Moon clips are prohibited.
  • A revolver may only compete in a single Division that must be declared prior to the start of competition


The standard paper target is the NRA D-1 target with 4 scoring areas. Scoring is based on time, including time added or subtracted per shot depending on which scoring zone it hits.

  • X-Zone – Bonus Score, Subtract 1 (one) Second if designated in stage description, if not counts as an A-Zone.

  • A-Zone – Adds no extra time.

  • B-Zone – Adds 1 (one) Second.

  • C-Zone – Adds 2 (two) Seconds.

  • Miss – Add 5 (five) Seconds.

Falling and stationary steel plates are also used in ICORE events.

Course Of Fire

In ICORE the match is consisted of multiple stages. Each stage is designed and set-up prior to the commencement of the match. The course of fire is individual to each stage. Stages may consist of paper and/or steel targets arranged in any manner, as long as range safety is not compromised. Stages can involve movement and/or static shooting from boxes.

Below is an example of a course of fire:

ICORE is a relatively cheap way to participate in practical shooting. New competitors are encouraged to shoot slow, straight and safe, rather than fast.

ICORE at Yarra Pistol Club

Check out our facebook and youtube pages

Match Types
Shooting Ranges

Yarra Pistol Club 2024. Copyright.